AN016: Kurokuma/Under – Split 7″

Two of the weirdest bands from the UK heavy underground, Kurokuma and Under join forces to each release a brand new song for this 7″ vinyl exclusive through Astral Noize Records on Friday Nov 15th 2019. Pre-order details will be announced soon.

Kurokuma follow from the success of their latest EP release Sheffield’s Best Metal Bands, Vol.1, keeping up their love of unlikely cover songs with a doomy rendition of the theme music from retro gaming classic Ecco The Dolphin: The Tides of Time. The song builds patiently around a swirling arpeggio, slowly escalating into a pulverising and trippy doom riff, leading to one of Kurokuma’s most melodic and grandiose songs yet.

Meanwhile on the other side, Under push their craft further forward with their lengthiest composition to date, ‘Abyssal Gigantism’Sonically and compositionally, this track branches further from their dense and eerie sophomore album Stop Being Naive. ‘Abyssal Gigantism’ is a multi-faceted nightmare, taking the listener through unsettling twists and turns. Their signature use of harmonised vocals and unconventional time signatures are intact, but with a much more daring exploration of erratic tempo changes,  recalling the wild ebb and flow of The Dillinger Escape Plan.

Pairing Kurokuma and Under for this exclusive 7″ vinyl release makes perfect sense. Both are unique and talented acts that think outside the box and stand tall amongst their contemporaries. The two bands have already toured together and share a dark and twisted sense of humour, absurd lyrical themes and a daring desire to experiment and challenge listeners.

Keep up to date on the split using the #KurokUnder hashtag.


Liked it? Take a second to support Astral Noize on Patreon!
Become a patron at Patreon!